Wundersmith by Jessica Townsend


We review book number two in the Nevermoor series – Wundersmith: The Calling of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend.

Wundersmith – the blurb

Imagination, discovery and friendship await Morrigan Crow when she escapes her deadly curse and joins the Wundrous Society. It promises her protection and belonging for life – but then Morrigan doesn’t receive the welcome she hoped for…

Morrigan is a much-feared Wundersmith. So, instead of the Society helping Morrigan to embrace her power, she is only taught that all Wundersmiths are evil and she must suppress her mysterious ability at all costs.

To make things worse, Nevermoor is quickly turning from a place of safety into one of danger. Society members are going missing, someone is blackmailing Morrigan’s new friends, turning them against her. And Ezra Squall, the evillest man who ever lived, is determined to lure Morrigan from the Society by promising to reveal the true nature of the Wunder that calls to her, which is becoming ever harder to resist…

Has Morrigan’s dream of escaping her cursed life ended before it truly began?

Worth the wait

Having had the pleasure of meeting Jessica Townsend earlier this year I was keen on getting started on Wundersmith asap. I had to wait however for my daughter to read it, then my mum, then my mother in law before it finally made it on to my lap. I enjoyed reading Nevermoor, a kind of Harry Potter esque story about a girl cursed to die on her 11th birthday. All the characters from Nevermoor return and some interesting new ones join in for the ride. School mistress Dearborn and school mistress Murgatroyd were my particular favourites!

Breathtaking Imagination

The book is slightly slow to start with. There is a LOT of detail about the Wundrous Society, the classes, the transport, the teachers. Townsend’s amazing imagination really shines here (God that woman can invent with words) but I was relieved when the plot started to take shape and the action got going.

The extent of Townsend’s imagination is just breathtaking and her imagination makes Wundersmith. Yes there is a moral underneath it all ‘some people are brave bullies. Some people are friendly cowards’. Yes there is a gripping plot and clear foundation stones for book number three. Yet it’s the Tricksy Lanes, the Ghastly Market and the Bonesmen that make this book come to life. As it was in Nevermoor with the Deucalion Hotel and its morphing bedrooms and magnificat.

Three is the magic number

If you enjoyed Nevermoor you won’t be disappointed with Wundersmith. Just be careful about mentioning it to family members. You might have a fight on your hands as to who reads it first! Book number three (of six), Hallowpox is due out in February next year.